22

I saw many good papers on good journals (by Springer, Elsevier, IEEE, etc.) with a Gmail as a corresponding email.

I'm about to submit a paper and since I don't have (yet) an academic email, I would like to know how bad is it to publish a paper with a Gmail account. Does it have influence on the author's reputation or the reviewing process?

7
  • 2
    Standard caveats apply: don't use an obnoxious or questionable username, and you will be fine Feb 9, 2015 at 17:40
  • 11
    I would argue that Gmail looks much better than yahoo or hotmail in the paper.
    – seteropere
    Feb 9, 2015 at 18:07
  • 3
    @seteropere I don't see why, though. Probably just because it's "in" now? (Seems to be in, with the 4 comment upvotes...)
    – yo'
    Feb 9, 2015 at 22:35
  • 1
    If you're genuinely concerned just get your own domain, only costs $10/year. Feb 9, 2015 at 23:51
  • 4
    Note that .edu domains only concerns US institutions.
    – Cape Code
    Feb 10, 2015 at 2:52

1 Answer 1

38

None. Outside/commercial email addresses are more likely to be permanent than academic ones, since people change jobs all the time. I think that a Gmail or Yahoo address is fine, and I rarely look at them when reviewing. Some venues use double-blind reviewing, so the reviewers won't know your email address or affiliation anyway.

7
  • 4
    +1 This is the reason I put my Gmail address on all my papers. If I hadn't I might already be missing correspondence directed to my previous affiliation's email.
    – Miguel
    Feb 9, 2015 at 22:01
  • 2
    @Miguel Would an affiliated institution not look down on that though? A sign that you're perhaps not intending stay, or that you're distancing yourself?
    – OJFord
    Feb 10, 2015 at 2:19
  • 4
    @OllieFord, I would hope that such institutions (and presumably we really only mean tenure committees, here), wouldn't be so petty or try to read such "signs". You're going to put down your institutional affiliation directly above or below your email address (or in a footnote, or whatever). I wouldn't sweat the fact that someone might look down on you for using a personal or commercial email address. If they want you to commit, they can offer you tenure.
    – Bill Barth
    Feb 10, 2015 at 3:33
  • 2
    @Martin I disagree. Some older people might even have trouble using email (or just don't read email, it happened recently to me). As someone in my late 20s I have grown up and am familiar using the internet, yet I sometimes have trouble finding a working email address for someone who has a ton of institutional webpages each with a different email. Some people are very hard to track on the internet.
    – Miguel
    Feb 10, 2015 at 10:15
  • 1
    @Martin Again I disagree, not everybody who does not want their info all over the internet is not willing to receive correspondence regarding their research.
    – Miguel
    Feb 10, 2015 at 11:05

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .