8

I have written a research report and did a literature review on specific topics, and I would like to know where I could ask for a peer review of my report. I'm new to this and would like to know if peer review is possible on literature review articles.

I would like to understand the whole process, and I would like to do this in a free and open-source way. I'm using Zenodo (European open-access publishing) and ResearchGate, publishing it as open-access and open-source.

If this has been asked before, please ignore my post and refer to those other posts where it's explained.

Edit: I have submitted my report on Zenodo to the Sustainable Engineering Science and Research Journal. I'm not sure if it's the correct community/journal to ask for a peer review. All I can do now is wait for a response.

7
  • 4
    What is your current position? Don’t you have a supervisor? If so they are the one to ask these kinds of questions.
    – user126108
    Dec 7, 2023 at 17:49
  • 4
    The conventional thing is: you attempt to publish in an established journal (or meeting), and the journal arranges for peer-review. Another would be: you apply for a job, and the prospective employer commissions the peer review. I would be interested in answers here about formal peer-review outside these conventional venues.
    – GEdgar
    Dec 7, 2023 at 17:53
  • 2
    Knowing what your field is would also be helpful. For example if it’s in life sciences or medicine you could look into eLife (elifesciences.org), which reviews preprints.
    – user126108
    Dec 7, 2023 at 17:56
  • 1
    @leonos I'm not studying at a research university but at a university of applied sciences (in Dutch: Hogeschool). You could compare this to a college and undergraduate study; I only did a literature review. Dec 7, 2023 at 18:02
  • 1
    @RemziCavdar did you do the review as part of a course? In that case the lecturer (or equivalent) should be able to answer your questions. In general you’ll learn the most if you find a more experienced academic to collaborate with, especially for your first review.
    – user126108
    Dec 7, 2023 at 18:05

1 Answer 1

10

Peer-review without special circumstances refers to the process of publishing an article in a journal or at a conference. The editors or organizers will then arrange for peer-review for some of the submitted papers. (Usually, there is a modus for desk-reject where the editor and head of the programming committee decides that a submission is clearly not worth publishing.)

There are more general understandings of the phrase "peer review". For example, a professor might assign papers submitted by students to other students to criticize. This is sometimes done in the education of future Ph.D.s.

The number of reviews is field dependent. In pure Mathematics, a single reviewer is often used, whereas in Computer Science, three reviewers is more often the target.

There are also outlets often on the web which have a somewhat lighter understanding of peer-review.

Depending on the field, literature reviews are often only published (and hence peer reviewed) by lower-quality outlets.

8
  • Thank you for your answer. And is peer review still possible in a non-traditional way, like self-publishing it or publishing it on an open collective or open access publisher like Zenodo and ResearchGate? Or is this an official process which can only happen when done with a traditional publisher? Dec 7, 2023 at 18:13
  • 1
    “Peer-review without special circumstances refers to the process of publishing an article in a journal or at a conference.” I would say that’s inaccurate: these two things are not equivalent. You can get a preprint peer-reviewed without having it published, you can get a manuscript peer-reviewed without it being accepted in a specific journal, you can get an abstract accepted in a conference without formal peer-review.
    – user126108
    Dec 7, 2023 at 18:17
  • 6
    @leonos Yes, a peer can review a preprint or manuscript, but when people say "peer-review" that's not what they mean. Dec 7, 2023 at 19:27
  • 1
    +1 overall, but your last sentence, Depending on the field, literature reviews are often only published (and hence peer reviewed) by lower-quality outlets. is not true for my field. Some higher impact journals mostly review-type articles (like cell.com/trends/ecology-evolution/home) Dec 7, 2023 at 19:32
  • 6
    @RichardErickson It's hard to get these high profile reviews published as a student, though; they're mostly high impact because people want to read what top researchers in the field see as the state of the art and often include a component of establishing or making the case for broader conclusions than a single research paper can attempt.
    – Bryan Krause
    Dec 7, 2023 at 19:44

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .