5

For example, what would this be for July 1st, 2020, in New York (Eastern Time)?

Is UTC-12 the same as AoE ("Anywhere on Earth")?

37

"UTC-12" is a timezone 12 hours behind Coordinated Universal Time, which is (more or less) the time in Greenwich, UK. Nobody actually lives there, though.

A day is 24 hours, and the Earth is divided into 27 major timezones from UTC-12 to UTC+141, with the UK in the middle(ish). Therefore, someone in UTC-12 is the very last person to reach a time. At the time it is 12:01 AM UTC-12, it's 12:01 PM UTC+0, and 11:01 PM UTC+11.

So by setting the submission deadline to 11:59 PM UTC-12 on a given day, it ensures that anyone anywhere in the world who submits on the appropriate day will be on time. Hence, "anywhere on Earth."

New York is UTC-4 during the summer, which means the deadline is 7:59 AM the following day.


1: It would seem like only 24 timezones would be necessary, but a few regions chose to move to UTC+13 and UTC+14 for their own reasons. Someone in UTC+13 is 25 hours ahead of UTC-12 (so 1:01 AM the next day). The details aren't important, but in case you'd like to do your own reading.

| improve this answer | |
19

Since UTC-12:00 is the westernmost/'latest' timezone on Earth, this is indeed another way to denote 'Anywhere on Earth'.

Eastern Standard Time (EST) is not used in New York on July 1st; instead, they use Eastern Daylight Time which is UTC-04:00, so July 1st 11:59PM UTC-12:00 is July 2nd 7:59AM EDT.

| improve this answer | |
19

UTC-12 means that it's 12 hours behind UTC. That's the maximum distance in our 24 hour day clock. So UTC-12 is the timezone where calendars end.

That's probably the motivation behind using it as a deadline. For example, if the deadline is January 31st UTC-12, then as soon as it's not January anymore anywhere, the deadline has passed.


Is UTC-12 the same as AoE ("Anywhere on Earth")?

AoE could be interpreted to apply daylight savings time. UTC never applies daylight savings time.

| improve this answer | |
  • 11
    note that while UTC-12 is the maximum distance in that direction, going the other direction there is an UTC+14 timezone, meaning there's actually a 26 hour difference between the two ends of the timezone map – SztupY Jan 21 at 23:42
  • @SztupY I didn't know that, but reading about it it's pretty interesting. – ObscureOwl Jan 21 at 23:46
  • 5
    (+1) For those of us more geographically minded, this time zone is in the central Pacific, and is two hours behind Honolulu Standard Time. – cag51 Jan 21 at 23:53

Your Answer

By clicking “Post Your Answer”, you agree to our terms of service, privacy policy and cookie policy

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged or ask your own question.