17

As a junior academic I am beginning to get requests to review papers.

What standards do you people out there use to decide which review requests to accept and which to turn down?

6
  • 12
    “Do I want to read this paper?”
    – Thomas
    Commented Dec 26, 2017 at 18:55
  • 8
    And not only that. First of all ask yourself if you can/could in term of competence.
    – Alchimista
    Commented Dec 26, 2017 at 19:10
  • 3
    See When is it appropriate to decline a review request?
    – ff524
    Commented Dec 26, 2017 at 19:14
  • @Thomas "Want to read" is not a feeling such as love or hatred or a sensation or a smell that your body or your hormones would tell you, generally speaking. Only your mind could tell you, and your mind needs to take an educated, well-informed decision.
    – Leon Meier
    Commented Dec 28, 2017 at 2:55
  • 1
    @NoahSnyder: Why do you say that you'll say NO to any review from an Elsevier journal? Commented Dec 29, 2017 at 20:33

3 Answers 3

20

I've found that after you get a few decent papers, you'll soon get far more requests than you can possibly handle (e.g. over the last few years I've consistently received one every week or two).

Besides the obvious issues of whether you're competent AND interested in reading the paper AND are currently available, my calculus usually goes like this:

  1. Is this a very high end journal? E.g. in my field that would be JAMA, NEJM, Science, etc. Accept the request. It's good to have input on some of the most influential papers in your field.

  2. If not, is it a journal you've never reviewed for before? It's always good to be able to add to the list of journals on your CV. If I haven't, but I HAVE heard of the journal (e.g. I know it's not a predatory journal), I'll usually accept.

  3. Is it an editor you have a history with/have a decent reviewer/editor relationship with? Accept the request. It's good to have arms-length senior academics who like you and are aware that you exist and know your expertise--e.g. for external non-collaborator letters when you're up for tenure.

If the answer to all three of those is "No", I'll usually decline and suggest another colleague.

3
  • 4
    If you're not in bio, your workload might be a lot lower. I've been a research professional for about a dozen years, and I only get on average about one request per month.
    – aeismail
    Commented Dec 26, 2017 at 20:54
  • If you are a junior academic you should also consider if you are competent to review such paper, not all editors now the detail's of the invited reviewer's expertise. Commented Dec 27, 2017 at 23:46
  • I use 1 and 3 together with saying no to anything at Elsevier as my main filters. Commented Dec 28, 2017 at 0:35
5

It comes down to personal preferences to some extent how you'd like to weight the various factors that go into deciding which papers to review. The two major points are:

  • Personal Interest: Does the paper's content interest you personally? While you can review a paper that doesn't, it's much easier to get through one fully that does interest you. As for why it does, it could be you simply enjoy the topic, or perhaps it directly impacts your research.
  • Scope: Can you fully assess the merits of this paper for publication? In other words, is it beyond your scope or not? If you cannot confidently say you can understand and assess the paper, then you may not want to accept to review it. While you normally have the option to decide this during the review process and inform the editor, it is best to make a determination of this prior to accepting to review, for convenience sake.
2

My answer is similar to the ones above with a small twist. I accept papers based on interest (is it an area I work in or would like to work or know), quality of journal/conference, and familiarity with the editor.

However, I also have a "paper budget" to prevent me from drowning myself in reviews (I used to do it in the past). In my area, it is usual to have 3 reviewers per paper. So, I target to review 3 times the number of papers I have submitted. It helps me focus my selection.

2
  • Since not all submitted papers are accepted, shouldn't you review 3 times the number of times you submitted a paper?
    – Mark
    Commented Dec 28, 2017 at 22:52
  • @Mark That's what I said. Three times the number of papers I submitted, not accepted.
    – electrique
    Commented Dec 29, 2017 at 5:58

You must log in to answer this question.

Not the answer you're looking for? Browse other questions tagged .